Sort by

Filter by

Original Version


Rizzi, Marco

Picture: Rizzi, Marco

Milan (Italy), 1967. "He is a top class violinist with an extensive pallete of sound, beautiful technique and fascinating legato cantabile; a surprisingly honest and mature musician..." (STRAD). Starting with the 2007-2008 academic year, Marco Rizzi is Head of the Violin Chair of the Reina Sofía School of Music. Prizewinner in three of the most prestigious violin competitions: Moscow Tchaikovsky, Brussels Queen Elizabeth and the Indianapolis Violin Competition, Marco Rizzi is highly respected for the quality, forcefulness and deepness of his performances. Pupil of G. Magnani, S. Accardo and W.Lieberman, obtained in 1991 the Europäischen Musikförderpreis with the endorsement of Claudio Abbado. He is regularly invited to the most prestigious halls such as the Scala in Milan, Gaveau and Pleyel Halls in Paris, Lincoln Center in New York, Grand Hall at Moscow's Conservatory, Musikhalle in Hamburg, Tivoli in Copenhagen, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Konzerthaus in Berlin. He has performed with conductors such as R.Chailly, H. Vonk, A. Ceccato, V. Jurowski, P. Eötvös and orchestras such as Dresden Staatskapelle, Indianapolis Symphony, Liverpool Philharmonic, Concerts Lamoreux, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Madrid RTVE Symphony, Scottish BBC, Nederland's Philharmonic, and many others. Marco Rizzi each year enriches his repertory with a new. He has a vivid interest for less-known repertory pieces: B. Walter's Sonata, J. Adams Concerto, or Italian 19th Century, greatly acclaimed by the music world music together with his recordings of J. S. Bach sonatas and partitas. He has a special passion for chamber music and pedagogy. He has been Head Professor at Detmold and gives Master Classes at Enghien and Biella. Since 2008-2009 he is Head Professor at Mannheim. Marco Rizzi plays a 1742 Pietro Guarneri violin on loan from the Pro Canale Onlus Foundation. Since the 2007-2008 academic year, Rizzi is Head Professor of the Violin Chair of the Reina Sofía School of Music.



Picture: FRANCK, César

Lieja, 1822 - Paris, 1890. Born at Liège in 1822, César Franck was originally intended by his father for a career as a virtuoso pianist. In Paris his nationality excluded him at first from the Conservatoire, where he eventually failed to achieve the necessary distinction as a performer, turning his attention rather to composition. In 1846 he left home and went to earn his living as a teacher and organist, winning particular fame in the second capacity at the newly built church of Ste. Clotilde, with its Cavaillé-Coll organ. He drew to him a loyal and devoted circle of pupils and in 1871 won some official recognition as the nominated successor of Benoist as organ professor at the Conservatoire. A man of gentle character, known to his pupils as Pater seraphicus, he exercised considerable influence through his classes and performances, although remaining something of an outsider as a composer in a Paris interested largely in opera. Franck's best known Orchestral music are the Symphonic Variations for solo piano and orchestra and the Symphony in D minor, completed in 1888 and first performed at a Conservatoire concert the following year. A brief series of symphonic poems includes the early Ce qu'on entend sur la montagne, based on Victor Hugo, Le chasseur maudit, inspired by a ballad by Burger, Les Djinns, after Hugo, and Psyché, a work that also calls for a chorus. Franck wrote a number of large scale Choral music on biblical subjects, with smaller scale works for occasional or liturgical use. This last category includes the well known Panis angelicus of 1872, originally for tenor, organ, harp, cello and double bass. The Panis angelicus was later interpolated into the three-voice Mass of 1861. Franck wrote one Violin Sonata, which, like his symphony, is united by a cyclic use of thematic material that connects the movements. There is a fine Piano Quintet, completed in 1879 and a final String Quartet, written in 1890. As a very distinguished organist, Franck wrote remarkably little for the instrument on which his improvisations had won him fame and pupils. Organ compositions published include Trois chorals of 1890 and three pieces, Trois pièces, written a dozen years earlier. The six organ pieces of 1860-62 include a Fantaisie, Grande pièce symphonique, Prélude, fugue et variation, Pastorale, Prière and Final. Franck's earlier piano music was designed for his own virtuoso performance. Two later works remain in general repertoire, the Prélude, choral et fugue of 1884 and the Prélude, aria et final completed in 1887.


  • FRANCK | Rizzi < Violin

    Sonata for violin and piano in A major

    III. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace

    CLASS 3658: [O.V.: English]


    Part - 53' 59''
    Part - 5' 04''





New list

In compliance with the provisions of Article 22.2 of the Spanish Information Society Services and Electronic Commerce Act (LSSI), this portal makes use of cookies. Your use of this website indicates your consent to the use of cookies described in this policy. -
You can alter the settings or find out more in cookies policy.
Cookie Policy +