ELGAR, Edward

Concerto for cello and orchestra in E minor op 85 (cello and piano reduction)

11-March-2009 Auditorio Sony de la Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía

More details

[DURATION: 11' 27'']

I. Adagio - Moderato 06' 57''

Direnzo, Dante

Direnzo, Dante

Montalván, Ofelia

Montalván, Ofelia

Ofelia Montalván started her studies in Havana, Cuba, at the Manuel Saumell and Amadeo Roldán Conservatories under the tutorship of Professor Teresita Junco. In 1981 she entered Moscow's Tchaikovsky State Conservatory and studied with Valery Kastelsky, Emeritus Artist of the Federation of Russian Republics obtaining in 1986 a Master in Fine Arts diploma as concert pianist, accompanying pianist and piano professor. Her professors in the disciplines of Accompaniment and Chamber Music were Kirill Vinográdov and Dmitri Galini, respectively. In 1987 she continued her studies in Interpretation at that center, graduating in 1989 with the highest qualifications. She was professor of the Piano Department at Havana's Instituto Superior de Arte and at the Orquesta Sinfónica del Estado Mérida in Venezuela. Since the 2002-2003 academic year she is Accompanying Pianist Professor of the Ferrovial Violoncello Department at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía together with Natalia Shakhovskaya, Head of the Department. As Professor of the School she has been Accompanying Pianist of maestros such as Natalia Gutman, Philippe Müller and Miklós Perényi. Ofelia Montalván has given several concerts in Madrid at the Lázaro Galdiano and Caja Madrid Foundations, El Prado Museum and at the Auditorio Nacional de Música. In 1986 she participated in the Viotti Piano International Competition and in 1987 at the Paloma O’Shea Santander International Piano Competition. She has also participated in master classes and international courses given by the Bach Akademie in Stuttgart, under the guidance of Helmut Rilling; the Korean Conductor Sun Kwagh and the clarinetists Michel Arrignon, Richard Shanley and Robert Spring. She has offered Chamber Music recitals with the French violinist Maurice Hasson, professor of the Royal Academy of London, and with the U.S. clarinetist Marian Liebowitz of the San Diego University.






Not a user yet? REGISTER

In compliance with the provisions of Article 22.2 of the Spanish Information Society Services and Electronic Commerce Act (LSSI), this portal makes use of cookies. Your use of this website indicates your consent to the use of cookies described in this policy. -
You can alter the settings or find out more in cookies policy.
Cookie Policy +